Freedom: Jonathan Kemp in conversation with Neil Bartlett, Maureen Duffy and Asifa Lahore

What does freedom feel like? Where does it come from? How do we make it happen? Novelist, playwright, director and performer Neil Bartlett invites three special guests whose lives span three very different generations of British life to share their lived experience of both struggle and liberation. Neil Bartlett is one of this country’s most acclaimed gay artists, working … Continue reading Freedom: Jonathan Kemp in conversation with Neil Bartlett, Maureen Duffy and Asifa Lahore

Jonathan Kemp reads at booQfest, Northampton

Bestselling author Jonathan Kemp will appear at Northampton’s third annual LGBT literary festival, booQfest. Jonathan will be reading from his latest novel, Ghosting, published by Myriad in March. booQfest is a collaboration between FAN (a not for profit LGBT social events group) and Q-WORD (an organisation designed to put people who enjoy Queer-themed literature in touch). Events … Continue reading Jonathan Kemp reads at booQfest, Northampton

Jonathan Kemp at Bankside Arts Lab, London

Jonathan Kemp will read from his latest novel, Ghosting (published by Myriad on 12th March), for literary, arts and music event Before Fools and Bunnies at Bankside Arts Lab on 31st March.

Jonathan Kemp in conversation with Kerry Hudson in association with Gay’s The Word

To celebrate the publication of acclaimed novel Ghosting, famous London bookshop Gay’s the Word plays host to author Jonathan Kemp for a special event at New Bloomsbury Set. At this free event, Jonathan will be in conversation with fellow writer Kerry Hudson about his new novel, as well as  discussing his previous books, London Triptych … Continue reading Jonathan Kemp in conversation with Kerry Hudson in association with Gay’s The Word

Jonathan Kemp

Jonathan Kemp teaches literature at Birkbeck, University of London. Originally from the North, he has lived in London for twenty years. His first novel, *London Triptych*, was shortlisted for the inaugural Green Carnation Prize and won the Authors’ Club Best First Novel Award. His highly acclaimed collection of short stories, *Twentysix*, is a milestone of literary erotica in the tradition of Georges Bataille and Jean Genet.

Literary salon with Myriad authors at Waterstones Piccadilly

Join us at Waterstones’ flagship store in London for this special literary salon where we’ll be discussing the joys of independent publishing and the range of Myriad’s creative development work, and introducing some of our brilliant authors: Elizabeth Haynes’ debut novel, Into the Darkest Corner, was published by Myriad in 2011 and became a word-of-mouth bestseller. Myriad also published her next … Continue reading Literary salon with Myriad authors at Waterstones Piccadilly

Ghosting

When Grace Wellbeck thinks she sees the ghost of her first husband, she fears for her sanity and worries that she’s having another breakdown. Long-buried memories come back thick and fast: from the fairground thrills of 1950s Blackpool to the dark reality of a violent marriage. But the ghost turns out to be very real: a … Continue reading Ghosting

Fiction

Our fiction list includes some of the most outstanding debuts of the past few years, from crime to literary fiction. We launched the career of Elizabeth Haynes, whose debut novel was Amazon’s Best Book of the Year 2011 and selected for TV Book Club 2012. Into the Darkest Corner has sold over a quarter of a million copies in … Continue reading Fiction

Twentysix

A nameless man graphically details his experiences as he cruises from parks to sex clubs in a relentless pursuit of pleasure and sexual gratification. Powerfully staging these anonymous encounters and describing each with luminous intensity, he continually tests the boundaries of sex, desire and the body until he is faced with the ultimate challenge: to … Continue reading Twentysix

London Triptych

Jack Rose begins his apprenticeship as a rent boy with Alfred Taylor in the 1890s, and finds a life of pleasure and excess leads him to new friendships — most notably with the soon-to-be infamous Oscar Wilde. A century later, David tells his own tale of unashamed decadence while waiting to be released from prison, … Continue reading London Triptych